PM Awas Yojana: 860 Projects Approved for 7.28 lakh Units

Latest Housing News, Schemes & Projects | By Rajkumar

The PM Awas Yojana is not going on the smooth road of implementation process and building a house.
According to the source, nearly 19,3000 houses were constructed under Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (PMAY)-Urban even as the central government has approved about 860 projects for the construction of 7.28 lakh lakhs.

Latest Update: PMAY-HFA Manipur – List of Beneficiaries for Thoubal, Kakching & Lilong

According to the date provided by Minister of State for Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation (HUPA), Rao Inderjit Singh in Rajya Sabha, as many as 864 project were approved as on July 15 this year under the scheme, which was launched in June last year.

These projects involved the construction of 7,28,840 houses for the slum dwellers and urban poor. Of total units only 19,255 units were completed and an many as 1,07,687 houses units were under construction.

The count of projects also include the projects approved under Rajiv Awas Yojana which has been merged in PMAY-urban.

In Andhra Pradesh, as many as 61 projects approved for the construction of 1,93,147 units, but not a single house was built even as 1,413 units were under construction. And Telangana got not for 64 projects for the construction of 80,000 houses, but no house was constructed in the state. According to the information only 300 units were under construction.

For Maharashtra, ten housing projects were approved, involving the construction of around 1 lakh houses, but neither a single house was built nor a was under construction in the state.
Punjab, Arunachal Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh, and Nagaland are the state where no house was constructed under the scheme.

Turning the face to the achievements of Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana, the highest number of 4,333 houses were built in Karnataka, followed by Rajasthan (3,627), Tamil Nadu (2,595), Gujarat (2,160) and Uttar Pradesh (2,044).

Apart from this, there are many states and UTs, where no project was approved under the Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana included Assam, Goa, Manipur, Meghalaya, Sikkim, Chandigarh, Delhi, Daman and Dui, Lakshadweep, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Dadar and Nagar Haveli and Puducherry.


Related - , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *